Blog Read

Lu Jong: Harmonizing the Body Systems

Trayi Lung Zin: Balancing the Fire Element

Trayi Lung Zin: Balancing the Fire Element

Rooted in Tibetan Medicine, this practice is a series of movements that target particular points of the body to effectively release blockages, opening the grosser channels of the body. The result is greatly improved physical health, increased immunity, vitality and a balanced mind. For these reasons we call Lu Jong Tibetan Healing Yoga.

The subtle body channels (see the Tantrayana page for more information) are not only vital for the passage of blood, oxygen and energy in the body, but also for a properly flowing mind. Blockages in the channels cause emotional suffering in a very real way. It is very important to actively do practices to maintain supple, open channels. Lu Jong is very effective for this.

Lu Jong has countless benefits that can be felt immediately. During the practice, we cultivate body awareness and improved sensation. Our minds naturally become calm and quiet. Because of this heightened focus, it is also particularly effective to do any other meditation practices after practicing Lu Jong. We balance the left and right sides of the body, brain and associated masculine and feminine energies. We transform negative emotions through the release of blockages and the balancing of the elements. We develop equanimity, becoming better able to remain balanced in uncomfortable situations.

Lu Jong Level 1 includes 23 movementson in five sets:

The Five Elements Movements
Working gently with the spine, we balance the energies of each of the five elements as well as the navel and heart chakras. The elements are also associated with the five negative emotions.

The Five Body Parts Movements
These exercises address the musculoskeletal system. Blockages in the joints will eventually manifest disease. So these focus on releasing blockages in the head, joints of the arms and shoulders, back, hips and knees.

The Five Vital Organ Movements
Work with energetic points related to the five major organs, increasing circulation, nutrient and energy flow.

The Six Conditions Movements
These address common problems such as digestion, water retention, arthritis and rheumatism, lowered heat in the body, decreased sensory function and depression.

Movements for Sleep and Wakefulness
These exercises can be used whenever one is having difficulty falling asleep, or staying awake.

This practice is accessible to people of all ages and abilities. There are modifications for all of the exercises to accommodate peoples’ various needs. Simply assuming a certain position and moving in a certain direction will already begin to place pressure on the right points and results will be felt.  

In Tibetan, lu means body and jong means training or transformation. Discover for yourself how these bodily practices can transform you inside and out.